"is trulybeautifuldown tothe verylast detail"

From ourguest book...
  • 2 Aug 2019 - Another fab stay, our first summer visit which contrasts with the sun and ice we've always had in February. Went into Wales to visit relatives and managed to get as far as Worcester for the day - cathedral well worth a visit. We will be back!! - Eveleen, Tony, Stan, Wilf
  • 26 July 2019 - Sit back, get comfy, let me tell you a yarn
    About a great place; let's call it Cruckbarn!
    We came for a few days just to have a short break
    But while we were here it made our senses awake
    Wonderfully peaceful + fabulous sites
    Birds, bunnies, deer and soaring red kites!
    Playing old records to which we would sing
    And then feeling joyful we'd go for a swing
    Had the hottest day ever and cooled off with a cornet
    And when we got back we were met by a hornet!
    We have to leave now as time's gone so fast
    This visit to Cruckbarn will not be our last ♡ - Nicola + Vince
  • 14 July 2019 - What an amazing place! Thank you for letting us enjoy this beautiful spot. The kids loved the woodland and counting the rabbits. xx - Rowley family
  • 8 July 2019 - A truly wonderful, peaceful and tranquil place to be. This is most definitely the place to come when you want the world to stop so you can get off, draw in breath and take in the beauty of the cruck barn and all its surroundings. We have all had a wonderful time here, thank you to Janet and John for making us feel at home - we will most definitely be back! - Dave, Jan & Adam
  • 5 July 2019 - We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this magical and very well thought out place. Love the hammock and fire pit and appreciated the thoughtful local goodies. We look forward to returning in the future. Many thanks :) - Joy family
  • 28 June 2019 - Another fantastic stay. Such a wonderful antidote to life's stresses and strains! We will never tire of this place - such a sanctuary. It never ceases to amaze us waking up to all the beautiful beams. The views all consuming. Rabbits and deer at the door, perfect! Thank you again :) Lovely meals - The Oak, The Riverside, The Lion. * Thank you Janet for your lovely cake - delicious, will order an extra next time :) - Lisa, Mark & Russell
  • 24 June 2019 - What a magical place to stay in to get away from the "hum-drum" of daily life. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home - The Tivorts and The Humphreys
  • 21 June 2019 - Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Perfect time of year to see Hampton Court Castle gardens. Enjoyed toasting marshmallow around the camp-fire, grilling sausages. Loved the wildlife - deer, rabbits, frogs, buzzards. We shared the barn for 1 days with the planet's biggest hornet!! Barn very peaceful and comfortable. Loved the beautiful and natural interior. Didn't miss TV for one second. Peaceful! Thanks for a lovely time! P.S. Loved all the thoughtfull little touches and supplies. - Sarah, Colin, Vikki
  • 17 June 2019 - We came to Cruckbarn for a restful and relaxing honeymoon, and despite the rain we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The barn itself is a stunning achievement. The many windows meant that time inside felt like a very comfortable outside, and the surrounding woodland was beautiful and peaceful. Loved sharing space with the deer, the rabbits and the birds. Evenings with no sound outside other than birdsong. Bliss! We saw a fair bit of the local area and ate a lot of good food. We'd recommend The Oak in Wigmore (Treacle Tart is amazing), Chang Thai in Ludlow and The Lion in Leintwardine. We went to some excellent bookshops (particularly Rossiters in Leominster) and bought loads of cider at Weston's (Much Marcle) and Newton Court in Leominster ("Park here and honk for cider"). Strongly recommend Westonbury Mill Water Gardens and Croft Castle and Parkland. We'll be back again to see it all in the sunshine! - Anna & Neil
  • 3 June 2019 - We came to celebrate Corinne's 40th birthday party with our best friends and can honestly say we had the best weekend of our lives. Cruckbarn is utterly magical, and the story of its creation is inspiring. Thank you for making this place so wonderful. We will be back! - Keith, Corinne, Jen + Theo
  • 30 May 2019 - Where to start? Our stay at Cruckbarn has been something of an enchanted honeymoon - we re-married a fortnight ago following an eight year period of being apart. The ambience and the enchanting atmosphere of this little house in the woods has been a wonderous backdrop to our reconnected lives. Few places in the country come close to the peace and tranquility afforded by Cruckbarn and to share it with the deer and such a wide variety of birdlife has been magical. The entertainment of watching flycatchers busy collecting food for their young was matched by furtive, fleeting views of redstarts and treecreepers - everything one thinks about English woodland is here. To walk among it, taking in the sights, sounds and smells is a truly life-affirming experience. Thank you, John & Janet, for making it all possible - what you have here is a little piece of heaven and we are better for having stayed here. - Richard & Lisa
  • 20 May 2019 - It has become a tradition, when we stay somewhere pretty,
    To say goodbye with a nice little dittie!
    A beautiful house, all made by hand,
    Nothing spared, both simple and Grand.
    We've seen the deer! Made friends with a bunny,
    Who doesn't like carrots, which seems rather funny.
    The sheep are wandering, like bundles of cloud,
    Chomping the grass and bleating aloud!
    So lovely Cruckbarn, we'll see you anon.
    Until then, it's Thankyou to Janet and John. xxx
    P.S. Just one more thing...
    How young I felt on the woodland swing!!! - Lyn & Mike
  • 12 May 2019 - Dear John + Janet - We have sat here this evening wondering how to and wanting to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to reconnect with self and each other in this wonderful piece of paradise. So we decided to tell you a story. To tell this story accurately there isn't sufficient pages in your book, so you have to adhere to the short version. 27 years ago, Maria and John met by chance. She sat in contemplation, and he approached through the crowds. Their eyes met, and from that moment their love intensified. But it was not to last as they were from different continents. They tried to keep love alive through letters, poems and pictures, but time would mean a broken heart and they drifted apart. Now 27 years later we leap into the future. With the age of technology and Facebook, love rekindled. And a desire to be with each other stranger still. All this took place in your little piece of paradise. Taking into account what we've just expressed, how can we have you understand how time spent here has added to the magic of our story. The morning skies, the breath-taking views, the silence and time to talk has all been an experience we will never forget. We read your story of Cruckbarn and were inspired by your labour and love. Thank you for allowing others to share in the experience you have built - John and Maria
  • 6 May 2019 - Another restful stay at a great time of year, with the sun pushing through the Spring chill, and all the birds in full song. Within 100 yards of the barn, we've seen: Pied Flycatcher, Wood Warbler, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff, Tree Pipit, Nuthatch, Treecreeper, Blackcap and many more of the common woodland birds. Redstart have been singing too, although they kept tantalisingly out of sight. A great place to immerse yourself in nature (while enjoying a bit of cosy luxury too!) Thank you! Looking forward to the next visit - David, Ben & Skip
  • 28 April 2019 - We have loved our stay here. The barn and setting are a real treasure and have really recharged our batteries. Highlights for us were keeping busy in the day (to tire out the 5 and 2 year olds): Croft Castle, Westonbury Mill Water Gardens, Berrington Hall, Ludlow and walking down to Wigmore. Balanced with cosy fireside evenings, listening to vinyl and sipping some G&Ts! Food at the Riverside in Aymestrey is fantastic. Enjoy your stay! We'll definitely be back - thanks John and Janet!
  • 22 April 2019 - What a truly wonderful place to spend our Easter weekend. This place is remarkable. The cake that welcomed us, the rope swing, all the thought and love that has gone in to Cruckbarn is clearly visible. We all loved it ♡ (Me and Suki we love the swing and we love the hamink and I love love the A frame. "I love the house" - Phoenix) - Sally, Kai, Phoenix & Suki
  • 19 April 2019 - What an absolutely beautiful place you have created here - outstanding! We have had a fabulous week including celebrating Lucy's 24th birthday - such a great location for a celebration. Ludlow Castle is a must - fantastic trip for the whole family and Ludlow itself is beautiful with a wonderful market - The Green Cafe has delicious food. Wigmore Castle ruins are great to explore and a good walk from Cruckbarn. Also worth a visit are the Water Gardens - some fantastic garden features to see! An absolute must is Hampton Court Gardens - the gardens are spectacular and great for the whole family. Make sure to go to the basement of the tower in the maze - you won't be disappointed! Aardvark book shop is also worth a visit for some great deals on books! Thank you John and Janet for your fabulous hospitality and amazing cake! We will be back! :) - Lucy & Chris
  • 7 April 2019 - Dear John and Janet. We love your house. My favourite bit was the barn. I spent an hour in it and my favourite food was marshmallow. Thank you for letting us being in it. ♡ Love from Caia. We absolutely loved it in here! Every detail is so lovingly executed. And fairy lights are not just for Xmas! Congrats on creating a place as magical as this. - GT Thank you for letting us in this house. My favourite bit is when me and my dad went to the forest. We climed some hils. Love Filippo. ♡
  • 31 March 2019 - Our last entry was 30th March 2018! We are back and once again have had such a great time. Re-discovered Joan Armatrading - thank you for that. Kids went to Go-Ape and that was a hit. Andrew just happy out walking with the kids down to the castle and sitting by the fire outside. We'll be seeing you! - Muriel, Andrew, Evie & Neil
  • 22 March 2019 - Our second visit, this time for my 40th & just as calm, beautiful and relaxing in Spring than it was in the Summer. Thank you so much for sharing this special place. We will see you again :) - Suell, Sam, Gem & Firsty
  • 18 March 2019 - Firstly, I don't feel I can do justice in writing a review for Cruckbarn. It's such a magnificent, majestic building, the stuff of dreams and fairytales! The weather wasn't particularly kind to us - but no matter - we have spent 3 days mostly inside drinking in the very fabric of the building - it's so tactile and so obviously ingrained with love, heart and soul. We love the organic feel which cohabits perfectly with the stunning natural grounds with views to die for. It has been food for the soul and we feel rested and revived. We feel so honoured to have shared this special place and take fond memories with us. As a side we had superb meals at both The Riverside Inn, Aymestrey and The Oak at Wigmore - fantastic food and service. Would recommend both whole-heartedly. Thank you so much - Lisa and Mark. Back in May :)
  • 24 February 2019 - We have had another wonderful stay at Cruckbarn. Listening to the wildlife on our midnight walks, building dens and perfecting our tricks on the swing. We have had a very chilled out time listening to the record player, having bonfires and enjoying family games. Thank you. - Nightingale family
  • 18 February 2019 - We've had a wonderful time here. We would like to return. Kids had great fun in the woods + with a fire in the evening. We'd recommend Ludlow, Pizza Ten and walks in Mortimer Forest. Thank you - Leaver family
  • 15 February 2019 - This place is amazing and we had a very special week indeed. Thank you - Alice & Mervin
  • 8 February 2019 - Truly such an enchanting place. We have both been so wrapped up in our own little peaceful world here. Cruckbarn and its surroundings are absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be returning! Thank you! x - Holly & Liam
  • 3 February 2019 - Magical, magical, wonderful peaceful time we spent in this wonderful place! We thank you so much for the opportunity to stay here. Thank you for everything. Rocco
  • 25 January 2019 - Just perfect in every way - Dianne & Greg
  • 19 January 2019 - We had a great weekend and what a lovely place to live. Great walks in the forest, all the silence was bliss - Beckie & Kirk
  • 13 January 2019 - We came here for our son's birthday. We had an amazing time. We highly recommend The Oak at Wigmore! - Helen, Andrew, Oliver & Ed
  • 4 January 2019 - What an amazing place to spend a week and start the New Year off refreshed and relaxed! We **LOVED** The Stagg @ Titley, possibly the best lunch in years, and we also had an amazing lunch at The Riverside @ Aymestrey. Ludlow was great too to potter round and we found a fab shop in Black Bough. Meat from the Butcher on the square and lovely deli treats from the Harp Lane Deli. Magic. ♡ Thankyou! x - Jason, Libby, Freddie & Lottie
  • 28 December 2018 - Fantastic, relaxing stay over Christmas. Magical place for our 9 year old. Opened his presents on the cowhide rug! Stunning walks in the fresh air led to deep sleep at night, leaving us totally refreshed. Best Christmas break in a decade!! We will be back x - Alexander, Patricia & Tresillian
  • 17 December 2018 - Surprise weekend away for my wife. The place is absolutely stunning and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. Hughie enjoyed crawling around and exploring. Would love to return again some day. - Luke, Sabrina & Hughie
  • 14 December 2018 - Came here as a surprise for Colin for his 70th - not disappointed! The barn is absolutely stunning down to the smallest detail. Enjoyed log burner and lovely views and walks in the area. Will recommend to family and friends. Thankyou for sharing. x - Jane & Colin
  • 3 December 2018 - We've had a fantastic get together, the barn is absolutely beautiful with amazing attention to detail. We can't wait to return again in the future. We've had the most relaxing weekend. Thank you so much. x - Michelle, Robyn, Gareth, Claire & Alison
  • 30 November 2018 - What a truly wonderful place! So interesting to see how it started and what it's become! It is a magnificent barn and we've appreciated all the personal touches inside (especially the edible goodies). We've had a lovely and comfortable stay here at Cruckbarn. Thank you so much! Although the weather hasn't been the best, it's certainly felt cosy here and we have seen some incredible views. We've enjoyed being away from it all in this little haven in Herefordshire. - Will & Iona
  • 19 November 2018 - A truly astounding building. I spent half of my weekend looking up. Even on my 3rd night I was still in awe of those hewn cruck frames. Throughout the entire building, every single piece of wood has been crafted to be in its perfect place, from the dining table to the carved acorn newel caps. Cruckbarn is not just a fabulous space to sit in, it is also a feast for the eyes. As soon as you step into the barn, and long before you've walked through the kitchen to see those remarkable 'A' frames, you know you're in somewhere very special. Your 15 year labour of love is truly a sight to behold and, indeed, experience. Thank you for sharing it - Lee. P.S. There is nothing quite like a tree swing to make you feel young again! - Lee & Jayne
  • 16 November 2018 - Thank you for giving us the perfect antidote to our lives in London - we played in the forest, flew our kite, went for a beautiful walk in Mortimer Woods, visited the castle and toasted marshmallows. Recommend the playground by the weir in Ludlow for small children! Thank you - hope to be back - Maria, Joe, Betty & Sacha
  • 12 November 2018 - Thank-you for the opportunity to enjoy this 'special' place. We are totally relaxed and 'foodied' out. We shall be back! - John & Helen
  • 26 October 2018 - Wow! was the first word uttered as we walked through the door. 5 days of pure relaxation, destressing and valuable family time. We wanted to sell up and move here on a permanent basis - so much had we enjoyed our stay in this fabulous place. The red kite feeding station is a must visit. Loved it - the marshmallows were very good and definitely were enjoyed around the camp fire - we would love to visit soon! - Hemmings family
  • 22 October 2018 - What a very special place this is! We are now feeling very relaxed and very sad to leave such a beautiful setting and inspiring home. Thank you so much - we hope to come back again soon x - Claire, Chris, Damien & Lizzie
  • 14 October 2018 - A wonderfully peaceful weekend - much of it indoors watching the rain. But no matter - it's such a beautiful indoors. Thank you John and Janet - Andrea & Anthony
  • 12 October 2018 - We very much enjoyed our stay at Cruckbarn. A beautiful, peaceful & secluded place to hunker down together as a family & watch Autumn creep in; and use as a base to explore the woods, countryside & local area. Thankyou! - Jaz, Mary-Beth & Ruben
  • 7 October 2018 - Totally gorgeous stay. Much refreshed. Deer, red kites, mushrooms and the amazing smell of Autumn. What an amazing barn and an amazing story. Thank you - Richard & Debby
  • 1 October 2018 - Another lovely stay, our third, but definitely not the last. Such a beautiful place. Had a lovely walk from Croft Castle and a wander down the The Oak, very friendly. Saw two deer on the way back. Thank you again! - Helen & Paul
  • 14 September 2018 - We thoroughly enjoyed our week here at Cruckbarn and visiting H.Art galleries and studios. The cottage setting is so peaceful and the contents just perfect for a relaxing stay. This morning we saw a small group of deer walking up the track, such a lovely start to our last day. Yesterday we'd crossed the valley to Burrington and walked to Downton Gorge. We saw a large group of > 30 deer enjoying the sunshine in a field, followed by 2 kingfishers, a dipper, a cormorant and 3 red kites. It was a great walk. We enjoyed toasting marshmallows on the fire earlier in the week, reminding us of childhood days of camping. We'll take all these lovely memories back with us. Thank you John and Janet. - Wendy & James
  • 7 September 2018 - A truly lovely, peaceful place. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you - Margot & Mick
  • 2 September 2018 - Dear John, Dear Janet, When we first saw your Cruckbarn in the internet, we knew this is the place we want to stay. However, seeing it in real life is even better. What you build up on the hills of Wigmore looks and feels like paradise, it is absolutely stunning and we feel blessed that we had the chance to be here for one week. The kids loved exploring the woods and having marshmallows on the fire. The area has beautiful places to visit - a drive to Elan Valley is also worth the drive - but still the best thing of all was being in and around the Cruckbarn. Again many thanks for the warm welcome, the cake was wonderful. We have made plans to come back already and are looking forward for it! - Margit, Sara, Rebekka, Misjam, Christian
  • 20 August 2018 - Amazing! We all loved it! We will be back! - Sarah, Nick, Poppy & Billy
  • 20 August 2018 - Yet another absolutely lovely stay at Cruckbarn. We cannot fault this beautiful place. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We managed to make 'Wigmore Fete' too. 1st visit 2016, 2nd 2018, so here's to 2020! Thanks guys xxx - Steph, Ollie, Stu, Claire & peeps
  • 17 August 2018 - What a beautiful place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already talking about when we might return! Thank you for such a wonderful holiday! - Meghan, James, Tristan, Elliot & Cordelia
  • 3 August 2018 - Thank you for a wonderful stay in your Cruckbarn. Dylan (2 yrs old) has thoroughly enjoyed exploring the woods and playing on the rope swing. The hammock soon became a firm favourite too! We look forward to coming back in a few years' time. P.S. Thanks for the superb homemade cake, it was delicious. - Gayle, Matthew & Dylan
  • 27 July 2018 - We managed to pick the hottest week of the year for our second visit, but it has been brilliant to enjoy the Cruckbarn in the sunshine, watching the wildlife and cooking on the fire. Surely the best way to enjoy a meal, and then sit watching the sunset reflecting on the hills by the light of the glowing embers. We can highly recommend The Riverside Inn at Aymestrey - great food and lovely surroundings. Only 10 mins away. - John & Eileen
  • 20 July 2018 - A beautiful house in a beautiful setting. We've had such an amazing, relaxing time. The only negative is that we have to leave :( Thank you! xxx - Jon, Katie, Jimi, Bo, Effy & Ena
  • 15 July 2018 - Beautiful place and the scenery is just fantastic. This place is a real gem and the perfect setting to say "YES!" :) Thanks so much for letting us stay to relax and enjoy everything that it has to offer. - Kev & Anna
  • 12 July 2018 - What a place. So different in a lovely setting. Must come back soon. Loved it. - Angela
  • 9 July 2018 - Another lovely stay again. We went cycling in the Wye Forest. We had delicious afternoon tea. We had a lovely time at Ludlow and a nice Sunday lunch. Thank you very much. Thank you for the cake and apple juice! - Helen, Andrew, Edward & Oliver
  • 4 July 2018 - Thank you so much John, Janet and my cousin David, for a fabulous stay in your beautiful barn - what an achievement - it is totally unique. We've had a great few days - relaxing and exploring this magical place. No wonder everyone who stays here is so full of praise and superlatives! We sure hope to be back before long :) - Keith and Alison
  • 29 June 2018 - A truly magical place. The Barn has been a much needed retreat this week. The little touches like the OS Map and Marshmallows have seen us enjoy walks in the local area (despite the heat and horseflies) and relaxing evenings around the fire pit. The local pub - The Oak is also an absolute must! A special place to celebrate, a haven to reflect and totally unforgettable - we will be back (in the winter so can enjoy the log burner & no flies). Thanks Janet & John - Holly & Grant
  • 22 June 2018 - Magical 3rd stay! Cruckbarn has become our finest retreat - magical and food for the soul. The wildlife and stunning landscape has blossomed since our last stay. Places to visit are aplenty. We enjoyed a trip to Ludlow and Elan Valley. Wildlife was amazing (we feel very blessed). Willow Warbler, Treecreeper, Willow Tit, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Jay, Buzzard, Sparrowhawk, Red Kite (and many finches and tits). John and Janet have created paradise in such a private and natural spot. We feel blessed to have found Cruckbarn. Thanks for the treats. See you for our 4th stay in the Autumn! ♡ - Karen & John
  • 4 June 2018 - Best time of our lives!! We are now married and will always remember our time here!!! Incredible building with so many aspects and so much character that keeps on surprising you! Thank you John and Janet for letting us celebrate our marriage here! The location and the building helped make our wedding extremely special - Josh, Miyoshi and Isamu
  • 28 May 2018 - Fantastic place! Such attention to detail. Excellent information prior to arrival and lovely welcome pack. Would quite like a TV for wet weather! Loved the marshmallows! Beds very comfy. Could have done with a loose OS Map to help with walking directions [Ed: "Just found the maps as I was looking through the folder for check-out information!"]- Lou, Cath, Helen, Kath, Aimee
  • 25 May 2018 - Thank you so much for accommodating us at such short notice and making us feel so welcome. You have an absolutely amazing building in a stunning location which is an ideal escape from the stresses of everyday life. We are just sorry our stay couldn't have been longer and hope to return again soon! Thank you again. - Carol & Colin
  • 21 May 2018 - Remote, undisturbed, silent and awe-inspiring. We have sat having breakfast by the breath-taking view, retreated to the shade to watch spotted flycatchers darting out for their insect prey, gone wild-swimming in the River Teme and taken a long walk from South Shropshire into Wales... and in all that, we've hardly met a soul. Cruckbarn offers tranquility in full measure. And with a campfire on the doorstep, stunning night skies, and a sense of immersion in nature, it's got a unique mix of excellence that I've yet to find elsewhere. We've loved our stay. Thank you! - Ben & David
  • 7 May 2018 - Wow!! Wonderful building, superb setting, & brilliant weather. Why would you ever want to travel abroad? Went to Leintwardine (The Lion) and had a fantastic lunch by the river, bought lots of great quality meat from Griffiths Butcher & had a yummy B-B-Q over the fire pit as the sun sank slowly in the West.... 'Wow'!! There really aren't enough superlatives to describe Cruckbarn. We really don't want to leave. Thanks to our hosts for a lovely time. - Bob, Nikki, Dan & Matthew
  • 30 April 2018 - Luxury accommodation in a lovely setting. Lots of things to do nearby. We really enjoyed the Sunday carvery at the Mortimers Cross Inn. - Jim, Carol and Matt
  • 27 April 2018 - Amazing 2nd stay (4 nights have flown by). Enjoyed Ludlow Castle and pottering around town, although best bit of our break was the wildlife from the daily 'patrol' of pheasants & squirrels to wonderful woodland birds:- Great spotted woodpecker, robins, wrens, tits, red kite, buzzard (look out for the thrush nest at the front). We were excited to spot pied flycatcher which are on the decline! Recommend Ludlow Food Hall - very impressed with the range and quality. Thanks John & Janet. You are fantastic hosts and bake the best cake ♡ - Karen & John
  • 22 April 2018 - So much to be thankful for... Beautiful walks in Wigmore Rolls & on The Long Mynd, delicious food & drink at The Lion and The Riverside, the opportunity to sit and watch the wildlife, but most of all a huge thank you to John and Janet for sharing their little slice of paradise with us. It's been absolutely wonderful and we're already planning our return!! - Jon & Emma
  • 13 April 2018 - Our sixth visit to the barn and the addition of windows, heated floor and woodburner have made this perfect place even more perfect. We have always loved this place and now it is stunning. What an incredible building. we are absolutely in love with the place and the children want to live here forever. Thank you for a wonderful week xxx - Dave, Rachel, Heather, Hazel, Briony, Rosie and Ian
  • 6 April 2018 - What a fantastic place! We had a lovely time and didn't let the weather stop us exploring. The kids loved it too. Thanks so much. We will definitely be back in the future. - The Jackson Family x
  • 2 April 2018 - Freya: (Definatley will come back (well want to) First day, and what I think of it and it's collosall grounds is... Wow! A big well done to Jon and Janet and there team, what a lovely and cosy cabin just fit for the family. There is no draughts, and marshmallows are great - Freya, age 10. Sally & Neil: A lovely relaxing stay at Cruckbarn. Had a lovely time playing cricket in the field and enjoyed toasting marshmallows on the campfire. Kids also had fun exploring the woods - fantastic meal at The Jolly Frog. We would love to come back. Ellie: Thankyou for our stay! - Ellie
  • 30 March 2018 - We had yet another lovely holiday at Cruckbarn. Thank you for the delicious ginger cake - hit the spot for afternoon tea. We went to the Owl Centre yesterday and that was a "hoot". We also saw them feed the goats and kids - what a treat. Will definitely be back again... Andrew, Muriel, Neil & Evie
  • 13 March 2018 - Such a lovely stay. Thank you so much John and Janet for sharing your wonderful barn and for making us so welcome. Best Ginger Cake!! We had a truly amazing time. Home away from home. Just what the doctor ordered. Thanks again xx - Jamie & Jenny
  • 9 March 2018 - Had an absolutely fantastic time at this great barn! Views are amazing. Really great place to get away from it all. Thanks very much for the goodies - much appreciated! As we managed to time our arrival with all the snow, we want to say a special thanks to John for ferrying us and our stuff up here (as had to leave car in the village)! Will definitely be back!! - Kate & Andy
  • 28 February 2018 - Amazing and very beautiful place: John & Janet, what a fantastic place you have created, thank you for sharing. It really is food for the soul. Lots of wildlife seen: Robin, blue tits, nuthatch, pheasant, rabbits and more! We would love to return (hopefully soon!). Recommend the walk to Wigmore Castle and Brockhampton very good. Thank you also for the treats, the ginger cake was the best we have tasted ♡ - Karen & John
  • 19 February 2018 - This is an amazing place. The adventures we have had in the two forests we named Enchanted and the Forbidden Forests. Mum loved the record player. The heated floors were magical. We had a lot of fun on the rope swing and building dens. Whilst roasting marshmallows on the camp fire. We'd love to come again. xx - ♡ - The Nightingales
  • 16 February 2018 - Another fab break. Love it. - Tony, Eveleen, Stu & Wilf
  • 2 February 2018 - We loved it so much this time last year that we're back! ☺ ♡ - Julie & Peter
  • 28 January 2018 - Enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing weekend in this small piece of heaven. We will definitely be back. ♡. xx - Andrew & Jackie
  • 24 January 2018 - Came here to write a review for The Simple Things magazine - what an amazing place. The building and craftsmanship are sublime - always wanted to live in an oak-framed building - and the setting is idyllic. We only stayed two nights - could have stayed much longer - so much to explore. Ludlow is a delight, and The Riverside at Aymestrey put on a fabulous meal - highly recommended. Lovely touches - great selection of books to read, yummy treats left for us to nibble and nice hand soaps etc. Saw lots of wildlife. Total heaven. Will tell anyone who'll listen! x - Sally and James
  • 19 January 2018 - What a truly peaceful retreat for my friend's birthday. Perfect in every way. Cruckbarn is amazing and thank you for letting us stay. Mwah! xxx Claire & Emma
  • 6 January 2018 - Another wonderful weekend at Cruckbarn. Complete tranquility in a very beautiful place. Thanks for letting us share it - Ben & Ian
  • 1 January 2018 - Hi. My name is Brody. I know I rit big but it's orrite. The End; We loved our holiday in Cruckbarn. It's been a privilege to stay in such an amazing building and setting. Enjoyed reading about the area's celebrity status, and of course the making of Cruckbarn. The highlight of our days out has to be the Karting circuit near Weobley! Thank you Janet & John for making everything perfect. xxxx - Rosalind, Michael, Jessica & Brody
  • 31 December 2017 - Day 1: We arrived yesterday :) and were all very excited to get going straight away. We headed off to Ludlow to walk around the town and go shopping. We went to Cicchetti (THE BEST EVER) in Ludlow and came back to the incredible house. We had a cosy time and watched a movie. Day 2: We went on the dambusters walk (4 miles) sooooooooooooo tiring!! Day 3: We built (finished off) a den in the wood. Then we went for a fab lunch at The Oak! Day 4: We went to Berrington Hall and did the trail! It was soooooo fun. Day 5: Boo hoo we are leaving 😢 Thank you so much for letting us stay. We can't thank you enough it was amazing! We'll all be back! xxx P.S THE HOUSE IS AMAZINGLY AWESOME! A-M-A-Z-I-N-G: Aminable-Mesmerizing-Amazing-Zuper (made up)-Incredible-Nice-Great. E-P-I-C: Epic-Perfect-Incredible-Cool - Kate, Chris, Issy (aged 9), Louis (6)
  • 11 December 2017 - To Janet + John, We have all had the most amazing weekend at the Cruckbarn, one that will live in memories for a lifetime. Getting snowed on has turned this into the perfect Winter Wonderland and has truly made turning 30 into one of the best weekends of my life. Going on woodland strolls knee high in snow, chasing deer tracks, building snowmen and making snow angels before returning to the cosy warm bliss of the log burner was a sure sign that life is good! All of this topped off with beautiful food at The Oak! THANK YOU Janet and John, we will be back! ⛄ x ♡ x ⛄ - Nia, Nicky and the gang!
  • 6 December 2017 - Thank you so much for such a lovely stay at Cruckbarn. The setting is fabulous and the Barn couldn't have been more beautiful. x - Matthew & Zoe
  • 1 December 2017 - Beautiful, peaceful & wonderful place - Rob & Sarah
  • 27 November 2017 - Had a lovely time! The isolation is just what we needed. Had an amazing time on the swing + have learnt that we definitely need to practice our outdoor firemaking skills for next time. Cruckbarn is such a joy to stay in + the book of its development made it that bit more special because you can really see how much love + hard work went into it. 3 days is just not enough so we hope to be back. Thank you for opening this wonderful place to share with others! :-) P.S. Loved the "odd compilation" CD + vinyl through the speakers. Ace. - Leanne + Will
  • 19 November 2017 - The perfect romantic hideaway! We have had the most amazingly relaxing stay in the Cruckbarn and can't say thank you enough! This building is a work of genius - a collaboration between nature and a wonderfully talented artist. We will be back! - Tom & Ruth
  • 13 November 2017 - Had a wonderful stay. We love countryside and this place is perfect. Loved everything. Just wish the weather was a bit better. Will come again but in summer. :-). Thanks for everything. You are a great host. - Mani & Manni
  • 10 November 2017 - Such a beautiful place, perfect. Decor so, so tastefully done. Location & woods is out of this world. Thank you for building such a haven & for allowing to share it with us. :-) - David, Rachael & Jack
  • 12 October 2017 - Another beautiful, relaxing stay. We love it here so much! Thanks for everything x - Naomi, Ryan, Rupert and Billy
  • 29 September 2017 - We stayed with you last year in your B&B and adored it, so knew we would not be disappointed with Cruckbarn. We have loved our stay here in your fairytale barn in the woods. We can envisage coming back time and time again as Elijah grows up and that he will have a magical time running around and exploring the woods. The barn is stunning! You can tell you have poured your heart and soul into it. The attention to detail and the little touches make it a place we would return again and again. Thank you for a lovely stay. Hope to stay again very soon. x - Laura, Sid & Elijah
  • 25 September 2017 - A lovely relaxing stay. Perfect. We liked it so much we are coming back in December! Thank you x - Helen & Paul
  • 22 September 2017 - A real chilled and enjoyable stay. Has been nice to just escape the madness of the city + just enjoy the quietness of this place. - Greg & Alice
  • 15 September 2017 - We have had the BEST time at Cruckbarn! It's truly magical and a very special place. The woodland is fab for exploring, it's a must!! We hope to return in the future. Thank you for a fantastic weekend!! :) - Sam, Kirsty, Shell & Gem
  • 15 September 2017 - Our first visit to this area and what a privilege to make this our 'home' for 5 days. The location and surroundings are truly beautiful. The wildlife is awesome and the birdlife is bountiful. We saw red kites every day and a buzzard sitting in the large horse chestnut, amongst many other varied species. Thank you John and Janet! P.S. We failed miserably at kite-flying! Steve & Lisa
  • 11 September 2017 - This was a lovely surprise for my birthday weekend. What a beautiful place. Amazing to wake up in and feel the calm. Loved the area, the little touches and the grandeur of the build. The kind of place Ron Swanson would call "magnificent!" Rick & Jos
  • 8 September 2017 - We have had such an amazing break for our wedding anniversary. Loved the peace and quiet and really being able to relax. The lovely thoughtful touches you put in really made our stay special. Thank you so much for letting us share your beautiful home. Nat & Mig
  • 1 September 2017 - We have just spent the most wonderful week at 'Cruckbarn'. The building is amazing and I'm sure we must have spent hours just sitting and admiring it! The children were delighted when they discovered the rope swing and loved building dens in the woods. Cruckbarn is ideally situated for exploring the area. During our stay we visited the local NT properties, Ludlow Food Centre and the brilliant Small Breeds and Owl Centre - a must for anyone with a love for animals. We spent each night sat around the fire pit toasting marshmallows and watching the bats. We will definitely be returning. Victoria, Paul, Isaac and Jasmine + Bolton
  • 25 August 2017 - We have really enjoyed our stay. We did both the circular walks and we really enjoyed Ironbridge Gorge. Thank you for recommending Antiques shops. Helen, Andrew, Edward & Oliver
  • 18 August 2017 - Beautiful piece of England. Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Karen and Neil
  • 4 August 2017 - We have loved our stay at Cruckbarn. The woods, barn, rope swing and fantastic firepit have made it a magical and memorable time away together. The barn has been so comfortable and relaxing. It's been a perfect retreat for getting some much needed time all together! We will be back! Lauren, Ceri, Ellen (6) + Alex (3)
  • 28 July 2017 - We had a fantastic week here. We loved the fire, the woodland, the record player etc. Very nice and chilled family time. We also appreciated the beauty and quality of the barn and everything in it - a real labour of love. We had a lovely meal at The Oak, did some long walks, stocked up on books at Hay-on-Wye etc. Thanks for having us - we hope to come again! Jeff, Emmelia, Isabella, and Otto
  • 28 July 2017 - I loved Cruckbarn. The campfire and 7 acre land was a highlight to my week. The house is lovely and all the bits to the house are brilliant. I loved doing the walks and the pubs you recommended were very nice. Thanks for letting me stay with my family here. I hope other people enjoy it! Isabella, Aged 9
  • 21 July 2017 - We have really enjoyed our stay at Cruckbarn. Its location is ideal, in splendid isolation, and the building is unique; perfect in all respects. We have particularly enjoyed the silence, and cooking tea on the open fire, after collecting kindling from the woods. We can heartily recommend a meal at The Riverside Inn; and The Green Cafe was worth finding in Ludlow. Ludlow itself is a superb town, interesting shops and castle. We used the park & ride which also provides a mini-tour. Croft Castle and Berrington House (both National Trust) are both worth visiting and close by. John and Eileen
  • 17 July 2017 - Thankyou so much for sharing this barn in such an idyllic location. It has been a blissful weekend! We have enjoyed cooking BBQs daily on the outdoor fire, toasting marshmallows, playing cards and drinking wine, endless walks in the woodlands to snuggling up next to the woodburner. It is extremely kind of you to share this 'labour of love' with others and we hope to return soon! Many thanks x0x Penny, Gordon, Naomi, Janet, Joe + Lucie
  • 14 July 2017 - We came for some R&R! This was part of our honeymoon and we have absolutely loved staying here. Thank you for making every detail of Cruckbarn so beautiful - it is a very special place - well worth the 'labour of love' - we hope you feel that too! Thank you x Richie & Rachy :)
  • 22 June 2017 - A beautiful place. What a privilege. It invites silence and listening. An amazing and very precious few days. Many thanks for making these possible. We look forward to a return visit sometime. Bob & Rosemary
  • 29 May 2017 - Thank you for a lovely stay. The house is amazing and you provide lovely snacks! You've really thought of everything your guests could need which is greatly appreciated. Tarang, Rob, Kalun & Charlotte
  • 21 May 2017 - We had a perfect romantic break in this lovely place. We loved reading the story of the strapping young men who built the barn and the great photos, showing their fine torsos. We appreciated the traditional skills used to construct this magnificent building, including what we assume must be local variations on traditional joints, such as the peculiar way the tie beam beside the staircase joins the post. This place is so versatile, it would make a lovely woodland workshop! Thank you for sharing your amazing creation with us. xx Ben and Ian
  • 19 May 2017 - We've both really enjoyed the peace and quiet while we've stayed here this week. Pretty much the only sounds you can hear are from the sheep and local wildlife. The barn is great and the views across the valley are lovely to wake up to and look at during the day. We would both be very happy to stay here again. We would both recommend The Baker's Arms at Orleton. The guy who owns it is very friendly and chatty with all-round very good service. The food was excellent - the chips being especially nice. Paul & Helen
  • 5 May 2017 - Thank you for such a blissful week - this barn is incredible and will now also hold very special memories for us... As you can see by the picture, Rob proposed to me by the campfire on our very first night ♡ I was both thrilled and surprised - I said yes of course! We have had such a brilliant time and hope to be back again! Za + Rob xx
  • 25 April 2017 - An idyllic place for birdwatching in Herefordshire. This Western Oak woodland is full of the spring sounds of Willow Warbler, Wood Warbler, Chiffchaff, Blackcap, Nuthatch, and many more. Red Kites and Buzzards glide majestically over the view, swallows nest in the eves... you don't have to go far to enjoy a lot of bird life! And what a great place to retreat to when the weather turns. The barn is warm and cosy. It has a fantastic walk-in shower and bath-with-a-view. Just as high quality as Janet & John's nearby B&B, which is also worth a stay! Mark, Simon, David, Huw, Jamie & Santi
  • 21 April 2017 - Super break and the kids had an awesome time in the woods, and learned to beat their parents at Ludo! :0 A great spot and a lovely place to stay to get away from it all. P.S. The rhubarb cake was delicious!! Neil, Evie, And & Muriel
  • 17 April 2017 - We spent an amazing 3 days here in the cottage, lighting fires on two of them. I loved toasting the marshmallows and watching them turning gooey (on a fire I lit myself with no matches!). On Easter Sunday, which was my brother's 7th birthday, we visited a castle and an owl breeding centre! This place is AMAZING and I really want to come back. :-) Ed (age 9), Rob, Nicola and James
  • 14 April 2017 - Such a lovely place to spend 3 fantastic days. Really enjoyed roasting marshmallows, making fires, beautiful views, awesome swing for the boys in the woods, long walks, pub lunches, playing Ludo and I even did a puzzle! :) Thanks so much for thinking of everything, we hope to be back. Amy & Jason, Charlie & Dylan (age 7 & 5)
  • 10 April 2017 - Had an amazing three days, blessed with wonderful weather and a fantastic 'home from home' to enjoy it in. The barn truly is a wonderful place, won't forget the fantastic views, waking to the sound of bird song, and deer in the woods, and cooking sausages on the fire pit with bats flying around. Loved every minute and hope to one day return! Rich, Lisa & Jak (Jak, aged 7: We all loved roasting marshmallows. We loved all of it.)
  • 6 April 2017 - Wow - where do we begin! What an amazing building to borrow for the week - there is no need to go out! What beautiful 360 degree views - my fave - sunrise from the master bedroom - spectacular. We did however venture out. Walks in the wood, day out in Ludlow, Elan Valley Dams and 'The Ironbridge'. Sad to be leaving but departing happy and relaxed and armed with lots and lots of cake!! THANK YOU. Chris, Em, Stella, Celeste & Xavier
  • 31 March 2017 - We have so enjoyed the peace and quiet in your wonderful barn. The views are stunning and we've seen and heard so many birds! We really appreciate all the considerate extras - the cake, marshmallows and the redbush tea - and the beautiful touches around the place. Like the handrail and the copper finishes on the lights in the bathroom. We had a fantastic lunch at The Green Cafe in Ludlow - would highly recommend it. Try their strawberry and rhubarb cordial. The Oak in Wigmore is also very good, particularly for local foraged food. Melanie & Mark
  • 27 March 2017 - A very enjoyable week. Loved the peace and quiet and the wonderful view. Managed coffee outside several days - not bad for March! A very comfortable house in a lovely area - thank you. xx Prue and Tony
  • 19 March 2017 - Thank you for a perfect weekend of den building, toasting marshmallows and quiet. A beautiful place. Carrick, Sophie, Nellie & Margot
  • 17 March 2017 - What a perfect retreat from our working lives. Which is exactly what we were looking for! The Barn is an incredible work of art. Luxurious and cosy and charming - but also really practical and easy to 'live in'. We went further afield a couple of times, but really our best bits were spent either enjoying the utterly charming, higgledy-piggledy Wigmore or just here. Wood-burner, campfires, those walks and woods... Thank you Janet & John! (And for the lovely arrival treats and sweet message). Fiona & Beck
  • 10 March 2017 - A perfect relaxing environment - Beautiful Barn - what an achievement! We loved the area - lovely sunny mornings just enjoying the scenery. Thank you! The welcome extras were very enjoyable. I do believe we will 'be back'. Ian & Gilly.
  • 18 February 2017 - Just what we wanted. Peace and quiet, away from everything. Loved the views and listening to Michael Chapman on vinyl, having seen him in London in 2015! The barn is perfection, and this from an architect and a town planner where, between us, we have seen many designs! Thank you. We will be back. Eveleen and Tony.
  • 5 February 2017 - A well-designed, cosy retreat with plenty of thoughtful touches, such as the cake! Well worth the walk over to Wigmore Castle. Walk down to the main lane, turn left, take the Public Footpath (over the stile) down the field until you reach the castle ruins. Steep but beautiful! Julie and Pete
  • 13 January 2017 - A little piece of heaven - couldn't have asked for any more. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Sarah & Matt
  • 13 January 2017 - Fantastic place! Especially when watching the winter storm - high winds and snow. Quite magical for Jan's birthday. Thank you for a greet week. Dave, Jan & Ellen
  • 2 January 2017 - An idyllic way to see in the New Year. Only when you visit Cruckbarn, do you fully appreciate this labour of love. Many thanks. x David & Ally
  • 30 December 2016 - A beautiful enchanting place. 3 days was not enough! -5°C outside, crisp frosty surroundings, perfect for photography and walking. Inside with the burner, cosy and warm. We will visit again. Thank you. Nigel & Tracy
  • 5 December 2016 - What a fantastic place! So comfortable and cosy. We have all had a thoroughly good time. Thank you. :-) Andrew, Helen, Ed and Oliver
  • 28 November 2016 - Loved it! Had such a great weekend and will def come back. Recommend Richard's Castle and Offa's Dyke for great walks (the latter's quite challenging!). Also had dinner at The Stagg at Titley, which was lovely - recommend. Will, Claire, Matt & Sarah
  • 21 November 2016 - Heated floor. Record player as well! Lewis loves it! (baby). Stefan (bro) loves it! I love it (Lauren). Anna loves it! (Mummy) Martin loves it (Daddy). 1st day: When we arrived we were very excited because it was dark and we didn't know what it looked like! We love it! Me and Stefan went exploring and found a rope swing in the woods. We made a bonfire and cooked some giant marshmallows! 2nd day: Daddy, Stefan and I made a den. It's still out there! Then we went out to eat at The Oak. ****** The Oak's great! 3rd day: We are leaving. :-( Bye bye. It was amazing. Thank you. 100,000 / 100,000!
  • 18 November 2016 - Baguley Hall, Wythenshawe: Finest timber frame in N. England. See J.T.Smith + C.F.Stell (1960s) for inspired interpretation of the heroic build. Later denied by mechanistic approach to further investigation. They missed the point. CRUCKBARN will confuse and please building archaeologists in future. SHIPS OF OAK. MEN OF IRON.
  • 15 November 2016 - What an incredible work of art and a true grand design. How talented and lucky you are. Thank you for sharing. xx - El + Neil
  • 11 November 2016 - What a relaxing and pleasant stay in this beautiful barn and lovely surrounding. The view can be seen from all the rooms and is always breathtaking. Visit the local AH Griffiths for some lovely bread and meat, and do not miss a dinner or lunch at the Riverside Inn, phenomenal food! See you soon, Dragutin, Kirsten and little Tanya
  • 28 October 2016 - A beautiful setting and extraordinary barn. We have thoroughly enjoyed it - not really going far, just relaxing in the barn and wandering locally. Thank you for a lovely break.
  • 24 October 2016 - Came here for a bit of peace after our wedding and now feel so relaxed! Had a great time visiting Ludlow and watching the wildlife. The barn has been superb and spent every night cuddled up in front of the fire. We'll definitely be back! :-) Aaron + Vicky
  • 21 October 2016 - We have had a perfect week in your beautiful barn - it's been exactly the retreat we needed! I knew it was going to be a good week as soon as I spotted the chocolate cake you very kindly left for us (scrummy, thank you!) and it only got better from there. Thank you both so much. We'll be heading straight back up north to recommend Cruckbarn to our friends and family. J and J
  • 11 October 2016 - Had an amazing two nights in the barn. Loved walking in the forest and toasting marshmallows by the fire, plus think we are now Inkspot fans!! Beautiful place, thanks John - Jo and Keith xx
  • 10 October 2016 - Such a beautiful retreat. We felt so relaxed and enjoyed every minute playing records, toasting marshmallows and lighting the fires! My sister and brother-in-law are visiting next month with some friends - hello Clare and Will and Matt and Sarah! :-) We recommend The Riverside Pub too for lunch (thanks John and Janet!) Sarah x
  • 2 October 2016 - The hours we have spent looking at every beam...! Such a beautiful space to spend the week in, both outside, with the fire, woods and views, and inside with the fire and tasteful simplicity. We loved Ludlow, especially the castle and amazing food at The Green Cafe. Beautiful walks at Mortimer Forest and quirky Water Gardens at Westonbury. Also a hidden gem of a tearoom just past Clun called Tea On The Way (call first as very limited parking and opening). What an amazing week! Thanks John! - Naomi, Ryan & Rupert
  • 25 September 2016 - What an absolutely beautiful place to be!! Although our stay was very short it was truly wonderful to relax and admire the views, play in the woods and enjoy the luxury of your beautiful barn. Thank you - we will be back!! Janis & Roger
  • 23 September 2016 - Such a lovely warm welcome upon arrival. We've enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's been great to slow life down a little. Your barn is truly beautiful - down to the very last detail! It's a real inspirational retreat. Thank you, Annabel and Nick.
  • 11 September 2016 - We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The Cabin is stunning and we admire every little thing about it. We will definitely love to come back. Ollie & Stephanie
  • 4 September 2016 - The most beautiful self-catering place we've ever stayed in. The barn is a work of art and we only wish we could stay a little longer! Will definitely be back soon. Janet, Alan, Jack & Barbara
  • 27 August 2016 - We've had a magical 5 days here. The barn is beautiful and a real credit to John and Janet's talents. We cooked over the open fire most nights, listening to the owls and spotting satellites and shooting stars. Berrington Hall (about 40 mins) is beautiful with Capability Brown landscapes. Even space for football! Go Ape was fun at the Wyre Forest (50 mins). Nice strolls too... Look out for Red Kites on the drive to Ludlow (20 mins) and River Swim at Leintwardine, and finish your book in the hammock and drink G+T's in the middle of the field...!
  • 25 August 2016 - Only one night, but enough to enjoy the peace and appreciate the style of the barn. It certainly has changed since my walk past 10 years ago. I think the best way we can sum it up is by saying if we ever get the chance to have our barn conversion, this is exactly how we would like it to look. Thank you.
  • 20 August 2016 - We have had a wonderful time. The Barn is beautiful and has everything you could possibly want. Favourites: opening both sets of doors on lovely evenings, BBQs on campfires, cosy lighting, the beauty of the building itself. Magical... Thanks a lot, John and Janet.
  • 18 August 2016 - Absolutely stunning barn in a beautiful location - made for a perfectly relaxing short break. Cosy log fires and scrabble tournaments each evening took us away from everyday life - just what we needed! Andy, Sarah, Joseph, Sam.
  • 5 August 2016 - This barn is a work of art, from its huge oak frame, down to every little detail. It is a credit to John and Janet's creativity and vision. A unique place to stay in a stunning location. Couldn't ask for more! Many thanks, Alex.
  • 3 August 2016 - Just spent 10 nights at this beautiful, magical barn to celebrate our wedding. It has been perfect in every way. Thank you, John and Janet, for a lovely stay.
  • 11 July 2016 - We feel very privileged to be the first to record our stay at Cruckbarn. Every aspect of the property has exceeded our expectations and although our stay was brief we seem to have absorbed a goodly amount of its charm in this beautiful rural setting.