"is trulybeautifuldown tothe verylast detail"

From ourguest book...
  • 7 September 2018 - A truly lovely, peaceful place. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you - Margot & Mick
  • 2 September 2018 - Dear John, Dear Janet, When we first saw your Cruckbarn in the internet, we knew this is the place we want to stay. However, seeing it in real life is even better. What you build up on the hills of Wigmore looks and feels like paradise, it is absolutely stunning and we feel blessed that we had the chance to be here for one week. The kids loved exploring the woods and having marshmallows on the fire. The area has beautiful places to visit - a drive to Elan Valley is also worth the drive - but still the best thing of all was being in and around the Cruckbarn. Again many thanks for the warm welcome, the cake was wonderful. We have made plans to come back already and are looking forward for it! - Margit, Sara, Rebekka, Misjam, Christian
  • 20 August 2018 - Amazing! We all loved it! We will be back! - Sarah, Nick, Poppy & Billy
  • 20 August 2018 - Yet another absolutely lovely stay at Cruckbarn. We cannot fault this beautiful place. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We managed to make 'Wigmore Fete' too. 1st visit 2016, 2nd 2018, so here's to 2020! Thanks guys xxx - Steph, Ollie, Stu, Claire & peeps
  • 17 August 2018 - What a beautiful place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already talking about when we might return! Thank you for such a wonderful holiday! - Meghan, James, Tristan, Elliot & Cordelia
  • 3 August 2018 - Thank you for a wonderful stay in your Cruckbarn. Dylan (2 yrs old) has thoroughly enjoyed exploring the woods and playing on the rope swing. The hammock soon became a firm favourite too! We look forward to coming back in a few years' time. P.S. Thanks for the superb homemade cake, it was delicious. - Gayle, Matthew & Dylan
  • 27 July 2018 - We managed to pick the hottest week of the year for our second visit, but it has been brilliant to enjoy the Cruckbarn in the sunshine, watching the wildlife and cooking on the fire. Surely the best way to enjoy a meal, and then sit watching the sunset reflecting on the hills by the light of the glowing embers. We can highly recommend The Riverside Inn at Aymestrey - great food and lovely surroundings. Only 10 mins away. - John & Eileen
  • 20 July 2018 - A beautiful house in a beautiful setting. We've had such an amazing, relaxing time. The only negative is that we have to leave :( Thank you! xxx - Jon, Katie, Jimi, Bo, Effy & Ena
  • 15 July 2018 - Beautiful place and the scenery is just fantastic. This place is a real gem and the perfect setting to say "YES!" :) Thanks so much for letting us stay to relax and enjoy everything that it has to offer. - Kev & Anna
  • 12 July 2018 - What a place. So different in a lovely setting. Must come back soon. Loved it. - Angela
  • 9 July 2018 - Another lovely stay again. We went cycling in the Wye Forest. We had delicious afternoon tea. We had a lovely time at Ludlow and a nice Sunday lunch. Thank you very much. Thank you for the cake and apple juice! - Helen, Andrew, Edward & Oliver
  • 4 July 2018 - Thank you so much John, Janet and my cousin David, for a fabulous stay in your beautiful barn - what an achievement - it is totally unique. We've had a great few days - relaxing and exploring this magical place. No wonder everyone who stays here is so full of praise and superlatives! We sure hope to be back before long :) - Keith and Alison
  • 29 June 2018 - A truly magical place. The Barn has been a much needed retreat this week. The little touches like the OS Map and Marshmallows have seen us enjoy walks in the local area (despite the heat and horseflies) and relaxing evenings around the fire pit. The local pub - The Oak is also an absolute must! A special place to celebrate, a haven to reflect and totally unforgettable - we will be back (in the winter so can enjoy the log burner & no flies). Thanks Janet & John - Holly & Grant
  • 22 June 2018 - Magical 3rd stay! Cruckbarn has become our finest retreat - magical and food for the soul. The wildlife and stunning landscape has blossomed since our last stay. Places to visit are aplenty. We enjoyed a trip to Ludlow and Elan Valley. Wildlife was amazing (we feel very blessed). Willow Warbler, Treecreeper, Willow Tit, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Jay, Buzzard, Sparrowhawk, Red Kite (and many finches and tits). John and Janet have created paradise in such a private and natural spot. We feel blessed to have found Cruckbarn. Thanks for the treats. See you for our 4th stay in the Autumn! ♡ - Karen & John
  • 4 June 2018 - Best time of our lives!! We are now married and will always remember our time here!!! Incredible building with so many aspects and so much character that keeps on surprising you! Thank you John and Janet for letting us celebrate our marriage here! The location and the building helped make our wedding extremely special - Josh, Miyoshi and Isamu
  • 28 May 2018 - Fantastic place! Such attention to detail. Excellent information prior to arrival and lovely welcome pack. Would quite like a TV for wet weather! Loved the marshmallows! Beds very comfy. Could have done with a loose OS Map to help with walking directions [Ed: "Just found the maps as I was looking through the folder for check-out information!"]- Lou, Cath, Helen, Kath, Aimee
  • 25 May 2018 - Thank you so much for accommodating us at such short notice and making us feel so welcome. You have an absolutely amazing building in a stunning location which is an ideal escape from the stresses of everyday life. We are just sorry our stay couldn't have been longer and hope to return again soon! Thank you again. - Carol & Colin
  • 21 May 2018 - Remote, undisturbed, silent and awe-inspiring. We have sat having breakfast by the breath-taking view, retreated to the shade to watch spotted flycatchers darting out for their insect prey, gone wild-swimming in the River Teme and taken a long walk from South Shropshire into Wales... and in all that, we've hardly met a soul. Cruckbarn offers tranquility in full measure. And with a campfire on the doorstep, stunning night skies, and a sense of immersion in nature, it's got a unique mix of excellence that I've yet to find elsewhere. We've loved our stay. Thank you! - Ben & David
  • 7 May 2018 - Wow!! Wonderful building, superb setting, & brilliant weather. Why would you ever want to travel abroad? Went to Leintwardine (The Lion) and had a fantastic lunch by the river, bought lots of great quality meat from Griffiths Butcher & had a yummy B-B-Q over the fire pit as the sun sank slowly in the West.... 'Wow'!! There really aren't enough superlatives to describe Cruckbarn. We really don't want to leave. Thanks to our hosts for a lovely time. - Bob, Nikki, Dan & Matthew
  • 30 April 2018 - Luxury accommodation in a lovely setting. Lots of things to do nearby. We really enjoyed the Sunday carvery at the Mortimers Cross Inn. - Jim, Carol and Matt
  • 27 April 2018 - Amazing 2nd stay (4 nights have flown by). Enjoyed Ludlow Castle and pottering around town, although best bit of our break was the wildlife from the daily 'patrol' of pheasants & squirrels to wonderful woodland birds:- Great spotted woodpecker, robins, wrens, tits, red kite, buzzard (look out for the thrush nest at the front). We were excited to spot pied flycatcher which are on the decline! Recommend Ludlow Food Hall - very impressed with the range and quality. Thanks John & Janet. You are fantastic hosts and bake the best cake ♡ - Karen & John
  • 22 April 2018 - So much to be thankful for... Beautiful walks in Wigmore Rolls & on The Long Mynd, delicious food & drink at The Lion and The Riverside, the opportunity to sit and watch the wildlife, but most of all a huge thank you to John and Janet for sharing their little slice of paradise with us. It's been absolutely wonderful and we're already planning our return!! - Jon & Emma
  • 13 April 2018 - Our sixth visit to the barn and the addition of windows, heated floor and woodburner have made this perfect place even more perfect. We have always loved this place and now it is stunning. What an incredible building. we are absolutely in love with the place and the children want to live here forever. Thank you for a wonderful week xxx - Dave, Rachel, Heather, Hazel, Briony, Rosie and Ian
  • 6 April 2018 - What a fantastic place! We had a lovely time and didn't let the weather stop us exploring. The kids loved it too. Thanks so much. We will definitely be back in the future. - The Jackson Family x
  • 2 April 2018 - Freya: (Definatley will come back (well want to) First day, and what I think of it and it's collosall grounds is... Wow! A big well done to Jon and Janet and there team, what a lovely and cosy cabin just fit for the family. There is no draughts, and marsmallows are great - Freya, age 10. Sally & Neil: A lovely relaxing stay at Cruckbarn. Had a lovely time playing cricket in the field and enjoyed toasting marshmallows on the campfire. Kids also had fun exploring the woods - fantastic meal at The Jolly Frog. We would love to come back. Ellie: Thankyou for our stay! - Ellie
  • 30 March 2018 - We had yet another lovely holiday at Cruckbarn. Thank you for the delicious ginger cake - hit the spot for afternoon tea. We went to the Owl Centre yesterday and that was a "hoot". We also saw them feed the goats and kids - what a treat. Will definitely be back again... Andrew, Muriel, Neil & Evie
  • 13 March 2018 - Such a lovely stay. Thank you so much John and Janet for sharing your wonderful barn and for making us so welcome. Best Ginger Cake!! We had a truly amazing time. Home away from home. Just what the doctor ordered. Thanks again xx - Jamie & Jenny
  • 9 March 2018 - Had an absolutely fantastic time at this great barn! Views are amazing. Really great place to get away from it all. Thanks very much for the goodies - much appreciated! As we managed to time our arrival with all the snow, we want to say a special thanks to John for ferrying us and our stuff up here (as had to leave car in the village)! Will definitely be back!! - Kate & Andy
  • 28 February 2018 - Amazing and very beautiful place: John & Janet, what a fantastic place you have created, thank you for sharing. It really is food for the soul. Lots of wildlife seen: Robin, blue tits, nuthatch, pheasant, rabbits and more! We would love to return (hopefully soon!). Recommend the walk to Wigmore Castle and Brockhampton very good. Thank you also for the treats, the ginger cake was the best we have tasted ♡ - Karen & John
  • 19 February 2018 - This is an amazing place. The adventures we have had in the two forests we named Enchanted and the Forbidden Forests. Mum loved the record player. The heated floors were magical. We had a lot of fun on the rope swing and building dens. Whilst roasting marshmallows on the camp fire. We'd love to come again. xx - ♡ - The Nightingales
  • 16 February 2018 - Another fab break. Love it. - Tony, Eveleen, Stu & Wilf
  • 2 February 2018 - We loved it so much this time last year that we're back! ☺ ♡ - Julie & Peter
  • 28 January 2018 - Enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing weekend in this small piece of heaven. We will definitely be back. ♡. xx - Andrew & Jackie
  • 24 January 2018 - Came here to write a review for The Simple Things magazine - what an amazing place. The building and craftsmanship are sublime - always wanted to live in an oak-framed building - and the setting is idyllic. We only stayed two nights - could have stayed much longer - so much to explore. Ludlow is a delight, and The Riverside at Aymestrey put on a fabulous meal - highly recommended. Lovely touches - great selection of books to read, yummy treats left for us to nibble and nice hand soaps etc. Saw lots of wildlife. Total heaven. Will tell anyone who'll listen! x - Sally and James
  • 19 January 2018 - What a truly peaceful retreat for my friend's birthday. Perfect in every way. Cruckbarn is amazing and thank you for letting us stay. Mwah! xxx Claire & Emma
  • 6 January 2018 - Another wonderful weekend at Cruckbarn. Complete tranquility in a very beautiful place. Thanks for letting us share it - Ben & Ian
  • 1 January 2018 - Hi. My name is Brody. I know I rit big but it's orrite. The End; We loved our holiday in Cruckbarn. It's been a privilege to stay in such an amazing building and setting. Enjoyed reading about the area's celebrity status, and of course the making of Cruckbarn. The highlight of our days out has to be the Karting circuit near Weobley! Thank you Janet & John for making everything perfect. xxxx - Rosalind, Michael, Jessica & Brody
  • 31 December 2017 - Day 1: We arrived yesterday :) and were all very excited to get going straight away. We headed off to Ludlow to walk around the town and go shopping. We went to Cicchetti (THE BEST EVER) in Ludlow and came back to the incredible house. We had a cosy time and watched a movie. Day 2: We went on the dambusters walk (4 miles) sooooooooooooo tiring!! Day 3: We built (finished off) a den in the wood. Then we went for a fab lunch at The Oak! Day 4: We went to Berrington Hall and did the trail! It was soooooo fun. Day 5: Boo hoo we are leaving 😢 Thank you so much for letting us stay. We can't thank you enough it was amazing! We'll all be back! xxx P.S THE HOUSE IS AMAZINGLY AWESOME! A-M-A-Z-I-N-G: Aminable-Mesmerizing-Amazing-Zuper (made up)-Incredible-Nice-Great. E-P-I-C: Epic-Perfect-Incredible-Cool - Kate, Chris, Issy (aged 9), Louis (6)
  • 11 December 2017 - To Janet + John, We have all had the most amazing weekend at the Cruckbarn, one that will live in memories for a lifetime. Getting snowed on has turned this into the perfect Winter Wonderland and has truly made turning 30 into one of the best weekends of my life. Going on woodland strolls knee high in snow, chasing deer tracks, building snowmen and making snow angels before returning to the cosy warm bliss of the log burner was a sure sign that life is good! All of this topped off with beautiful food at The Oak! THANK YOU Janet and John, we will be back! ⛄ x ♡ x ⛄ - Nia, Nicky and the gang!
  • 6 December 2017 - Thank you so much for such a lovely stay at Cruckbarn. The setting is fabulous and the Barn couldn't have been more beautiful. x - Matthew & Zoe
  • 1 December 2017 - Beautiful, peaceful & wonderful place - Rob & Sarah
  • 27 November 2017 - Had a lovely time! The isolation is just what we needed. Had an amazing time on the swing + have learnt that we definitely need to practice our outdoor firemaking skills for next time. Cruckbarn is such a joy to stay in + the book of its development made it that bit more special because you can really see how much love + hard work went into it. 3 days is just not enough so we hope to be back. Thank you for opening this wonderful place to share with others! :-) P.S. Loved the "odd compilation" CD + vinyl through the speakers. Ace. - Leanne + Will
  • 19 November 2017 - The perfect romantic hideaway! We have had the most amazingly relaxing stay in the Cruckbarn and can't say thank you enough! This building is a work of genius - a collaboration between nature and a wonderfully talented artist. We will be back! - Tom & Ruth
  • 13 November 2017 - Had a wonderful stay. We love countryside and this place is perfect. Loved everything. Just wish the weather was a bit better. Will come again but in summer. :-). Thanks for everything. You are a great host. - Mani & Manni
  • 10 November 2017 - Such a beautiful place, perfect. Decor so, so tastefully done. Location & woods is out of this world. Thank you for building such a haven & for allowing to share it with us. :-) - David, Rachael & Jack
  • 12 October 2017 - Another beautiful, relaxing stay. We love it here so much! Thanks for everything x - Naomi, Ryan, Rupert and Billy
  • 29 September 2017 - We stayed with you last year in your B&B and adored it, so knew we would not be disappointed with Cruckbarn. We have loved our stay here in your fairytale barn in the woods. We can envisage coming back time and time again as Elijah grows up and that he will have a magical time running around and exploring the woods. The barn is stunning! You can tell you have poured your heart and soul into it. The attention to detail and the little touches make it a place we would return again and again. Thank you for a lovely stay. Hope to stay again very soon. x - Laura, Sid & Elijah
  • 25 September 2017 - A lovely relaxing stay. Perfect. We liked it so much we are coming back in December! Thank you x - Helen & Paul
  • 22 September 2017 - A real chilled and enjoyable stay. Has been nice to just escape the madness of the city + just enjoy the quietness of this place. - Greg & Alice
  • 15 September 2017 - We have had the BEST time at Cruckbarn! It's truly magical and a very special place. The woodland is fab for exploring, it's a must!! We hope to return in the future. Thank you for a fantastic weekend!! :) - Sam, Kirsty, Shell & Gem
  • 15 September 2017 - Our first visit to this area and what a privilege to make this our 'home' for 5 days. The location and surroundings are truly beautiful. The wildlife is awesome and the birdlife is bountiful. We saw red kites every day and a buzzard sitting in the large horse chestnut, amongst many other varied species. Thank you John and Janet! P.S. We failed miserably at kite-flying! Steve & Lisa
  • 11 September 2017 - This was a lovely surprise for my birthday weekend. What a beautiful place. Amazing to wake up in and feel the calm. Loved the area, the little touches and the grandeur of the build. The kind of place Ron Swanson would call "magnificent!" Rick & Jos
  • 8 September 2017 - We have had such an amazing break for our wedding anniversary. Loved the peace and quiet and really being able to relax. The lovely thoughtful touches you put in really made our stay special. Thank you so much for letting us share your beautiful home. Nat & Mig
  • 1 September 2017 - We have just spent the most wonderful week at 'Cruckbarn'. The building is amazing and I'm sure we must have spent hours just sitting and admiring it! The children were delighted when they discovered the rope swing and loved building dens in the woods. Cruckbarn is ideally situated for exploring the area. During our stay we visited the local NT properties, Ludlow Food Centre and the brilliant Small Breeds and Owl Centre - a must for anyone with a love for animals. We spent each night sat around the fire pit toasting marshmallows and watching the bats. We will definitely be returning. Victoria, Paul, Isaac and Jasmine + Bolton
  • 25 August 2017 - We have really enjoyed our stay. We did both the circular walks and we really enjoyed Ironbridge Gorge. Thank you for recommending Antiques shops. Helen, Andrew, Edward & Oliver
  • 18 August 2017 - Beautiful piece of England. Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Karen and Neil
  • 4 August 2017 - We have loved our stay at Cruckbarn. The woods, barn, rope swing and fantastic firepit have made it a magical and memorable time away together. The barn has been so comfortable and relaxing. It's been a perfect retreat for getting some much needed time all together! We will be back! Lauren, Ceri, Ellen (6) + Alex (3)
  • 28 July 2017 - We had a fantastic week here. We loved the fire, the woodland, the record player etc. Very nice and chilled family time. We also appreciated the beauty and quality of the barn and everything in it - a real labour of love. We had a lovely meal at The Oak, did some long walks, stocked up on books at Hay-on-Wye etc. Thanks for having us - we hope to come again! Jeff, Emmelia, Isabella, and Otto
  • 28 July 2017 - I loved Cruckbarn. The campfire and 7 acre land was a highlight to my week. The house is lovely and all the bits to the house are brilliant. I loved doing the walks and the pubs you recommended were very nice. Thanks for letting me stay with my family here. I hope other people enjoy it! Isabella, Aged 9
  • 21 July 2017 - We have really enjoyed our stay at Cruckbarn. Its location is ideal, in splendid isolation, and the building is unique; perfect in all respects. We have particularly enjoyed the silence, and cooking tea on the open fire, after collecting kindling from the woods. We can heartily recommend a meal at The Riverside Inn; and The Green Cafe was worth finding in Ludlow. Ludlow itself is a superb town, interesting shops and castle. We used the park & ride which also provides a mini-tour. Croft Castle and Berrington House (both National Trust) are both worth visiting and close by. John and Eileen
  • 17 July 2017 - Thankyou so much for sharing this barn in such an idyllic location. It has been a blissful weekend! We have enjoyed cooking BBQs daily on the outdoor fire, toasting marshmallows, playing cards and drinking wine, endless walks in the woodlands to snuggling up next to the woodburner. It is extremely kind of you to share this 'labour of love' with others and we hope to return soon! Many thanks x0x Penny, Gordon, Naomi, Janet, Joe + Lucie
  • 14 July 2017 - We came for some R&R! This was part of our honeymoon and we have absolutely loved staying here. Thank you for making every detail of Cruckbarn so beautiful - it is a very special place - well worth the 'labour of love' - we hope you feel that too! Thank you x Richie & Rachy :)
  • 22 June 2017 - A beautiful place. What a privilege. It invites silence and listening. An amazing and very precious few days. Many thanks for making these possible. We look forward to a return visit sometime. Bob & Rosemary
  • 29 May 2017 - Thank you for a lovely stay. The house is amazing and you provide lovely snacks! You've really thought of everything your guests could need which is greatly appreciated. Tarang, Rob, Kalun & Charlotte
  • 21 May 2017 - We had a perfect romantic break in this lovely place. We loved reading the story of the strapping young men who built the barn and the great photos, showing their fine torsos. We appreciated the traditional skills used to construct this magnificent building, including what we assume must be local variations on traditional joints, such as the peculiar way the tie beam beside the staircase joins the post. This place is so versatile, it would make a lovely woodland workshop! Thank you for sharing your amazing creation with us. xx Ben and Ian
  • 19 May 2017 - We've both really enjoyed the peace and quiet while we've stayed here this week. Pretty much the only sounds you can hear are from the sheep and local wildlife. The barn is great and the views across the valley are lovely to wake up to and look at during the day. We would both be very happy to stay here again. We would both recommend The Baker's Arms at Orleton. The guy who owns it is very friendly and chatty with all-round very good service. The food was excellent - the chips being especially nice. Paul & Helen
  • 5 May 2017 - Thank you for such a blissful week - this barn is incredible and will now also hold very special memories for us... As you can see by the picture, Rob proposed to me by the campfire on our very first night ♡ I was both thrilled and surprised - I said yes of course! We have had such a brilliant time and hope to be back again! Za + Rob xx
  • 25 April 2017 - An idyllic place for birdwatching in Herefordshire. This Western Oak woodland is full of the spring sounds of Willow Warbler, Wood Warbler, Chiffchaff, Blackcap, Nuthatch, and many more. Red Kites and Buzzards glide majestically over the view, swallows nest in the eves... you don't have to go far to enjoy a lot of bird life! And what a great place to retreat to when the weather turns. The barn is warm and cosy. It has a fantastic walk-in shower and bath-with-a-view. Just as high quality as Janet & John's nearby B&B, which is also worth a stay! Mark, Simon, David, Huw, Jamie & Santi
  • 21 April 2017 - Super break and the kids had an awesome time in the woods, and learned to beat their parents at Ludo! :0 A great spot and a lovely place to stay to get away from it all. P.S. The rhubarb cake was delicious!! Neil, Evie, And & Muriel
  • 17 April 2017 - We spent an amazing 3 days here in the cottage, lighting fires on two of them. I loved toasting the marshmallows and watching them turning gooey (on a fire I lit myself with no matches!). On Easter Sunday, which was my brother's 7th birthday, we visited a castle and an owl breeding centre! This place is AMAZING and I really want to come back. :-) Ed (age 9), Rob, Nicola and James
  • 14 April 2017 - Such a lovely place to spend 3 fantastic days. Really enjoyed roasting marshmallows, making fires, beautiful views, awesome swing for the boys in the woods, long walks, pub lunches, playing Ludo and I even did a puzzle! :) Thanks so much for thinking of everything, we hope to be back. Amy & Jason, Charlie & Dylan (age 7 & 5)
  • 10 April 2017 - Had an amazing three days, blessed with wonderful weather and a fantastic 'home from home' to enjoy it in. The barn truly is a wonderful place, won't forget the fantastic views, waking to the sound of bird song, and deer in the woods, and cooking sausages on the fire pit with bats flying around. Loved every minute and hope to one day return! Rich, Lisa & Jak (Jak, aged 7: We all loved roasting marshmallows. We loved all of it.)
  • 6 April 2017 - Wow - where do we begin! What an amazing building to borrow for the week - there is no need to go out! What beautiful 360 degree views - my fave - sunrise from the master bedroom - spectacular. We did however venture out. Walks in the wood, day out in Ludlow, Elan Valley Dams and 'The Ironbridge'. Sad to be leaving but departing happy and relaxed and armed with lots and lots of cake!! THANK YOU. Chris, Em, Stella, Celeste & Xavier
  • 31 March 2017 - We have so enjoyed the peace and quiet in your wonderful barn. The views are stunning and we've seen and heard so many birds! We really appreciate all the considerate extras - the cake, marshmallows and the redbush tea - and the beautiful touches around the place. Like the handrail and the copper finishes on the lights in the bathroom. We had a fantastic lunch at The Green Cafe in Ludlow - would highly recommend it. Try their strawberry and rhubarb cordial. The Oak in Wigmore is also very good, particularly for local foraged food. Melanie & Mark
  • 27 March 2017 - A very enjoyable week. Loved the peace and quiet and the wonderful view. Managed coffee outside several days - not bad for March! A very comfortable house in a lovely area - thank you. xx Prue and Tony
  • 19 March 2017 - Thank you for a perfect weekend of den building, toasting marshmallows and quiet. A beautiful place. Carrick, Sophie, Nellie & Margot
  • 17 March 2017 - What a perfect retreat from our working lives. Which is exactly what we were looking for! The Barn is an incredible work of art. Luxurious and cosy and charming - but also really practical and easy to 'live in'. We went further afield a couple of times, but really our best bits were spent either enjoying the utterly charming, higgledy-piggledy Wigmore or just here. Wood-burner, campfires, those walks and woods... Thank you Janet & John! (And for the lovely arrival treats and sweet message). Fiona & Beck
  • 10 March 2017 - A perfect relaxing environment - Beautiful Barn - what an achievement! We loved the area - lovely sunny mornings just enjoying the scenery. Thank you! The welcome extras were very enjoyable. I do believe we will 'be back'. Ian & Gilly.
  • 18 February 2017 - Just what we wanted. Peace and quiet, away from everything. Loved the views and listening to Michael Chapman on vinyl, having seen him in London in 2015! The barn is perfection, and this from an architect and a town planner where, between us, we have seen many designs! Thank you. We will be back. Eveleen and Tony.
  • 5 February 2017 - A well-designed, cosy retreat with plenty of thoughtful touches, such as the cake! Well worth the walk over to Wigmore Castle. Walk down to the main lane, turn left, take the Public Footpath (over the stile) down the field until you reach the castle ruins. Steep but beautiful! Julie and Pete
  • 13 January 2017 - A little piece of heaven - couldn't have asked for any more. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Sarah & Matt
  • 13 January 2017 - Fantastic place! Especially when watching the winter storm - high winds and snow. Quite magical for Jan's birthday. Thank you for a greet week. Dave, Jan & Ellen
  • 2 January 2017 - An idyllic way to see in the New Year. Only when you visit Cruckbarn, do you fully appreciate this labour of love. Many thanks. x David & Ally
  • 30 December 2016 - A beautiful enchanting place. 3 days was not enough! -5°C outside, crisp frosty surroundings, perfect for photography and walking. Inside with the burner, cosy and warm. We will visit again. Thank you. Nigel & Tracy
  • 5 December 2016 - What a fantastic place! So comfortable and cosy. We have all had a thoroughly good time. Thank you. :-) Andrew, Helen, Ed and Oliver
  • 28 November 2016 - Loved it! Had such a great weekend and will def come back. Recommend Richard's Castle and Offa's Dyke for great walks (the latter's quite challenging!). Also had dinner at The Stagg at Titley, which was lovely - recommend. Will, Claire, Matt & Sarah
  • 21 November 2016 - Heated floor. Record player as well! Lewis loves it! (baby). Stefan (bro) loves it! I love it (Lauren). Anna loves it! (Mummy) Martin loves it (Daddy). 1st day: When we arrived we were very excited because it was dark and we didn't know what it looked like! We love it! Me and Stefan went exploring and found a rope swing in the woods. We made a bonfire and cooked some giant marshmallows! 2nd day: Daddy, Stefan and I made a den. It's still out there! Then we went out to eat at The Oak. ****** The Oak's great! 3rd day: We are leaving. :-( Bye bye. It was amazing. Thank you. 100,000 / 100,000!
  • 18 November 2016 - Baguley Hall, Wythenshawe: Finest timber frame in N. England. See J.T.Smith + C.F.Stell (1960s) for inspired interpretation of the heroic build. Later denied by mechanistic approach to further investigation. They missed the point. CRUCKBARN will confuse and please building archaeologists in future. SHIPS OF OAK. MEN OF IRON.
  • 15 November 2016 - What an incredible work of art and a true grand design. How talented and lucky you are. Thank you for sharing. xx - El + Neil
  • 11 November 2016 - What a relaxing and pleasant stay in this beautiful barn and lovely surrounding. The view can be seen from all the rooms and is always breathtaking. Visit the local AH Griffiths for some lovely bread and meat, and do not miss a dinner or lunch at the Riverside Inn, phenomenal food! See you soon, Dragutin, Kirsten and little Tanya
  • 28 October 2016 - A beautiful setting and extraordinary barn. We have thoroughly enjoyed it - not really going far, just relaxing in the barn and wandering locally. Thank you for a lovely break.
  • 24 October 2016 - Came here for a bit of peace after our wedding and now feel so relaxed! Had a great time visiting Ludlow and watching the wildlife. The barn has been superb and spent every night cuddled up in front of the fire. We'll definitely be back! :-) Aaron + Vicky
  • 21 October 2016 - We have had a perfect week in your beautiful barn - it's been exactly the retreat we needed! I knew it was going to be a good week as soon as I spotted the chocolate cake you very kindly left for us (scrummy, thank you!) and it only got better from there. Thank you both so much. We'll be heading straight back up north to recommend Cruckbarn to our friends and family. J and J
  • 11 October 2016 - Had an amazing two nights in the barn. Loved walking in the forest and toasting marshmallows by the fire, plus think we are now Inkspot fans!! Beautiful place, thanks John - Jo and Keith xx
  • 10 October 2016 - Such a beautiful retreat. We felt so relaxed and enjoyed every minute playing records, toasting marshmallows and lighting the fires! My sister and brother-in-law are visiting next month with some friends - hello Clare and Will and Matt and Sarah! :-) We recommend The Riverside Pub too for lunch (thanks John and Janet!) Sarah x
  • 2 October 2016 - The hours we have spent looking at every beam...! Such a beautiful space to spend the week in, both outside, with the fire, woods and views, and inside with the fire and tasteful simplicity. We loved Ludlow, especially the castle and amazing food at The Green Cafe. Beautiful walks at Mortimer Forest and quirky Water Gardens at Westonbury. Also a hidden gem of a tearoom just past Clun called Tea On The Way (call first as very limited parking and opening). What an amazing week! Thanks John! - Naomi, Ryan & Rupert
  • 25 September 2016 - What an absolutely beautiful place to be!! Although our stay was very short it was truly wonderful to relax and admire the views, play in the woods and enjoy the luxury of your beautiful barn. Thank you - we will be back!! Janis & Roger
  • 23 September 2016 - Such a lovely warm welcome upon arrival. We've enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's been great to slow life down a little. Your barn is truly beautiful - down to the very last detail! It's a real inspirational retreat. Thank you, Annabel and Nick.
  • 11 September 2016 - We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The Cabin is stunning and we admire every little thing about it. We will definitely love to come back. Ollie & Stephanie
  • 4 September 2016 - The most beautiful self-catering place we've ever stayed in. The barn is a work of art and we only wish we could stay a little longer! Will definitely be back soon. Janet, Alan, Jack & Barbara
  • 27 August 2016 - We've had a magical 5 days here. The barn is beautiful and a real credit to John and Janet's talents. We cooked over the open fire most nights, listening to the owls and spotting satellites and shooting stars. Berrington Hall (about 40 mins) is beautiful with Capability Brown landscapes. Even space for football! Go Ape was fun at the Wyre Forest (50 mins). Nice strolls too... Look out for Red Kites on the drive to Ludlow (20 mins) and River Swim at Leintwardine, and finish your book in the hammock and drink G+T's in the middle of the field...!
  • 25 August 2016 - Only one night, but enough to enjoy the peace and appreciate the style of the barn. It certainly has changed since my walk past 10 years ago. I think the best way we can sum it up is by saying if we ever get the chance to have our barn conversion, this is exactly how we would like it to look. Thank you.
  • 20 August 2016 - We have had a wonderful time. The Barn is beautiful and has everything you could possibly want. Favourites: opening both sets of doors on lovely evenings, BBQs on campfires, cosy lighting, the beauty of the building itself. Magical... Thanks a lot, John and Janet.
  • 18 August 2016 - Absolutely stunning barn in a beautiful location - made for a perfectly relaxing short break. Cosy log fires and scrabble tournaments each evening took us away from everyday life - just what we needed! Andy, Sarah, Joseph, Sam.
  • 5 August 2016 - This barn is a work of art, from its huge oak frame, down to every little detail. It is a credit to John and Janet's creativity and vision. A unique place to stay in a stunning location. Couldn't ask for more! Many thanks, Alex.
  • 3 August 2016 - Just spent 10 nights at this beautiful, magical barn to celebrate our wedding. It has been perfect in every way. Thank you, John and Janet, for a lovely stay.
  • 11 July 2016 - We feel very privileged to be the first to record our stay at Cruckbarn. Every aspect of the property has exceeded our expectations and although our stay was brief we seem to have absorbed a goodly amount of its charm in this beautiful rural setting.